ISSMO/Springer Prize 2023

On behalf of the ISSMO Executive Comittee, we are very pleased to announce that the ISSMO/Springer Prize 2023 is awarded to Mr. Changyoung Yuhn: “4D topology optimization: Integrated optimization of the structure and self-actuation of soft bodies for dynamic motions” by Changyoung Yuhn, Yuki Sato, Hiroki Kobayashi, Atsushi Kawamoto and Tsuyoshi Nomura, Toyota Central R&D Labs.

ISSMO congratulates Mr. Yuhn for his outstanding work and this award. The paper introduces an innovative topology optimization method for self-actuating soft bodies. It addresses the dynamic problem of soft and active materials and extends the design space over time with new design representations.

The EC commended also the other candidates for the high quality of their research works.