ISSMO/Springer Prize 2001

Dr. Erik Lund and Dr. Kang-Soo Park have been selected as recipients of the 2001 ISSMO/Springer Prize for Young Scientist.

The Prize is awarded to Dr. Lund and Dr. Park for excellent presentations and contents
of outstanding papers read at ISSMOs Fourth World Congress of Structural and
Multidisciplinary Optimization (WCSMO-4) held in Dalian, China, June 4-8, 2001.

Dr. Erik Lund (Aalborg University, Denmark, ) receives the Prize for the
paper “Shape Design Optimization of Stationary Fluid-Structure Interaction Problems
with Large Displacements and Turbulence” that is co-authored with Henrik Maler and
Lars Aaes Jakobsen.

Dr. Kang-Soo Park (KAIST, South Korea, ) is selected as recipient of
the Prize for the paper “Topology Optimization of the Primary Mirror of a Multi-Spectral
Camera” which is co-authored with Su-Young Chang and Sung-Kie Youn.

The Prize was handed over at small ceremony during the General Assembly at the
WCSMO-5 in Lido di Jesolo, Italy, in May 2003. After Dr. Lund and Dr. Park gave a
brief presentation of their winning papers